‘Rangers’ cowardly Croat, Borna Barisic, was very lucky indeed today not to have been sent off against Celtic in the Ibrox side’s 1-0 Scottish Cup semi-final defeat at Hampden Park this afternoon.
Barisic had already been booked in the game for a dangerous tackle, but this didn’t stop him diving in the Celtic penalty box claiming that Kyogo had tripped him up.
The replays showed there was no contact whatsoever, with Chris Sutton saying on commentary at the time “that’s a dive”.
Speaking on Clyde Superscoreboard on the incident, Hugh Keevins of course did his best to protect his favourite team when asked if Barisic should have received a second yellow card for simulation:
Keevins: “I don’t think it was a dive.”
But when host Gordon Duncan asked the same to Mark Wilson and Gordon Dalziel, they both gave a more honest assessment of what they had just seen.
Wilson: “Yes (He should have received a second yellow). I think he knows exactly what he’s doing there.”
“I think he goes down, he looks at the ref, he claims then to the referee, that there was contact. The replays have shown that there’s no contact, so it’s simulation.”
Dalziel: “He goes for the penalty kick, there’s no doubt.”
“At first I thought he slipped because there’s obviously a bit of rain and wetness on the pitch, but I think looking at it two or three times he goes for the penalty kick, no doubt”
You can check out the incident below.